Music For Listeners 2006/10/21 Austin City Limits Festival 2006 Wrap-Up

1) The Beastie Boys-"Country Mike's Theme" From the CD 'Anthology'.
2) Roger Miller-"Do Wakka Do" From the vinyl LP 'Do Wakka Do'.
3) Primal Scream-"When the Bomb Drops" From the brand new CD 'Riot City Blues'.
4) Art Brut-"Emily Kane" From the brand new UK CD single for "Emily Kane".
5) Mumm-Ra-"Song B" From the brand new UK CD E.P. 'Black Hurts Day and the Night Rolls On'.
6) The Dimes-"Doctor Doctor" From the CD E.P. 'The Dimes (Animal)'.
7) Oppenheimer-"M.O." From the CD 'Oppenheimer'.
8) Tilly and the Wall-"Urgency" From the CD 'Bottoms of Barrels'.
9) Muse-"Hoodoo" From the CD 'Black Holes and Revelations '.
10) Wild Beasts-"Brave Bulging Buoyant Clairvoyants" From the promo CD single for "Brave Bulging Buoyant Clairvoyants".
11) Buttercup-"Johnny Appleseed" From the CD 'Hot Love'.
12) Palace Fires-"Nothing Comes Close" From the UK CD single for "Nothing Comes Close".
13) The Fratellis-"Chelsea Dagger" From the UK CD single for "Chelsea Dagger".
14) Big Soy-"Back to Town" From the CD E.P. 'Part of You'.
15) Jet-"Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is" From the brand new CD 'Shine On'.
16) The Lovely Sparrows-"Let's Watch the Tourists" From the CD E.P. 'Pulling Up Floors, Pouring On (New) Paint'.
17) Mosquitos-"Ele" From the brand new CD 'Mosquitos III'.
18) Big Strides-"£2.49" From the brand new CD 'Cry It All Out'.
19) Austin City Limits Music Festival 2006 - Music For Listeners Wrap-Up
20) The Village Green-"When the Creepers Creep In" From the brand new CD 'Feeling the Fall'.
21) You Say Party! We Say Die!-"Love in the New Millennium (Your Pants My Couch)" From the CD 'Hit the Floor'.
22) Baby Calendar-"Traffic in the Tropics" From the CD 'Gingerbread Dog'.
23) Get Cape. Wear Cape. Fly-"The Children Are (The Consumers of) the Future" From the UK CD single for "The Chronicles of A Bohemian Teenager (Part One).
24) El Goodo-"Chalking the Lines" From the CD 'El Goodo'.
25) Good Shoes-"Wrong and Right" From the UK CD single for "All In My Mind".
26) Fields-"Heretic" From the CD E.P. '7 from the Village'.
27) The Tambourines-"Sally O'Gannon" From the UK CD single for "Sally O'Gannon".
28) "The Mid-Morning Recording" Built To Spill-'You In Reverse'.
I'll never see this band live. As I write this, I am missing this band in Austin. The odds are always stacked against me seeing this band live. Something always stands in the way. That said, I played tonight's MMR in honor of one of my favorite bands playing back in Texas. I've played two other Built To Spill albums as MMR's, and I could have picked almost any album by this band. The reviews of their newest album have been a little lackluster, so I'm playing this to prove that albums need to be heard to be loved. The lead-off track "Goin' Against Your Mind" is worth the price alone; a classic Built To Spill song. Buy anything from this band...especially if you like a great guitar sound. Even though I'm disappointed that I tried everything in my power to get to Austin to see them tonight, I'm happy that I can at least listen to MFL and hear some Built To Spill this morning. One of my favorite albums of 2006. Enjoy!
Michael - MFL

29) James-"Sayonara" From the CD 'Wah-Wah'.

Design, Content and Layout
© 2005-2007 M-T Productions
Ask permission if you want to use any copyrighted materials for your own use