Music For Listeners 2006/10/28

1) The Beastie Boys-“Country Mike’s Theme” From the CD ‘Anthology’.
2) Fleetwood Mac-“Blood on the Floor” From the CD ‘Kiln House’.
3) Palace Fires-“Nothing Comes Close” From the UK CD single for “Nothing Comes Close”.
4) Yo La Tengo-“The Weakest Part” From the CD ‘I’m not Afraid of You, and I Will Beat Your Ass’.
5) The Horrors-“Sheena is a Parasite” From the brand new CD E.P. ‘The Horrors’.
6) The Dimes-“Delila” From the CD E.P. ‘The Dimes (Animal)’.
7) Mosquitos-“Reason to Live” From the brand new CD ‘Mosquitos III’.
8) Buttercup-“Shiyoganai” From the CD ‘Hot Love’.
9) Mumm-Ra-“There She Is” From the CD E.P. ‘Black Hurts Day and the Night Rolls On.
10) El Perro Del Mar-“I Can’t Really Talk About It” From the forthcoming CD ‘El Perro Del Mar’.
11) AM60-"Girl For Me" From the CD 'Always Music 60'.
12) Jet-“Hey Kids” From the CD ‘Shine On’.
13) Pixies-“Bone Machine (Live)” From the DVD ‘Pixies’.
14) The White Stripes-“Ball and Biscuit (Live)” From the DVD ‘Under Blackpool Lights’.
15) The Dears-“You and I Are In A Gang of Losers” From the brand new CD ‘Gang of Losers’.
16) The Lovely Sparrows-“The War Has Seen the Best of Me” From the E.P. ‘Pulling Up Floors, Pouring On (New) Paint’.
17) Primal Scream-“We’re Gonna Boogie” From the CD ‘Riot City Blues’.
18) El Goodo-“Stuck in the Sixties” From the CD ‘El Goodo’.
19) The Radio Dept.-“Pulling Our Weight” From the brand new CD soundtrack to “Marie Antoinette”. Also found on the Swedish CD single for “Pulling Our Weight.
20) Goodshoes-“Questions and Answers” From the UK CD single for “All In My Mind”.
21) Oppenheimer-“Time Loss/Gain” From the CD ‘Oppenheimer’.
22) Juni Jarvi-“The Stars Above Indian Lake” From the CD ‘Wherever Thou Art’.
23) Tilly and the Wall-“Black and Blue” From the CD ‘Bottoms of Barrels’.
24) Graham Coxon-“What’s He Got?” From the CD ‘Love Travels At Illegal Speeds’.
25) Sound Team-“No More Birthdays” From the CD ‘Movie Monster’.
26) XTC-“Scarecrow People” From the CD ‘Oranges and Lemons’.
27) The Village Green-“Wrap Your Love Around Me” From the CD ‘Feeling the Fall’.
28) Big Strides-“Sing To Me” From the CD ‘Cry It All Out’.
29) Robert Gomez-“Free” From the CD ‘Etherville’.
30) Micah P. Hinson and the Opera Circuit-“Letter from Huntsville” From the brand new CD ‘Micah P. Hinson and the Opera Circuit’.
31) Salim Nourallah-“1978” From the CD ‘Polaroid’.
32) Muse-“Knights of Cydonia” From the CD ‘Black Holes and Revelations’.
33) “The Mid-Morning Recording” Talking Heads-‘More Songs About Buildings and Food’.
I can't remember if the first Talking Heads song I heard was "Once In A Lifetime", or if it was "Take Me to the River". Either way, just like any lover of great music, I found Talking Heads in good time. Even with this second album by the band, you can tell Talking Heads were something special. I wish I was old enough to really enjoy their recordings brand new. Whether it be a strange cold war protest song or making Al Green's classic "Take Me To the River" their own, this album is one of the best offerings by any band. New wave? Post-Modern? Artsy? Punk? Pop? However the critics categorize this recording, it's just good. Any album by this band is good, and this is the third album MFL has played by Talking Heads; it won't be the last. Unfortunately a lot of us will never get to see the Talking Heads in their live splendor, but luckily you can watch "Stop Making Sense" on DVD and try to get close to the magical experience of Talking Heads live. Dedicated to my sister Audrey and my great friend, John Navarro...two big fans of David, Tina, Chris and Jerry.

34) James-“Sayonara” From the CD ‘Wah-Wah’.

Design, Content and Layout
© 2005-2007 M-T Productions
Ask permission if you want to use any copyrighted materials for your own use