Main Page MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Track of the Month MFL Playlists MFL Pictures MFL History and Links
MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings
MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts Past MFL Concerts


Music For Listeners 03/19/2016
SXSW 2016 Favorites

1) Beastie Boys-"Country Mike's Theme"  From the CD 'Anthology: The Sounds of Science'.
2) Whitney-"No Woman"  From the brand new digital single for "No Woman".
3) Oscar-"Beautiful Words"  From the EP 'Beautiful Words'.
4) Hooton Tennis Club-"P.O.W.E.R.F.U.L. P.I.E.R.R.E"  From the album 'Highest Point in Cliff Town'.
5) The Parrots-"Dee Dee Dangerous"  From the vinyl 7" single for "Dee Dee Dangerous".
6) Brothers In Law-"Oh, Sweet Song"  From the brand new album 'Raise'.
7) Deer Vibes-"Still I Reach (Think I Saw You)"  From the album 'The Nature Of...'.
8) Ra Ra Riot-"Water"  From the brand new album 'Need Your Light'.
9) Chad Valley-"True"  From the album 'Entirely New Blue'.
10) Fear of Men-"Island"  From the forthcoming album 'Fall Forever'.
11) Tele Novella-"Coat Tail Rider"  From the vinyl 7" single for "Trouble in Paradise".
12) Stealing Sheep-"Apparition"  From the album 'Not Real'.
13) La Luz-"Don't Wanna Be Anywhere"  From the album 'Weirdo Shrine'.
14) Sheer Mag-"What You Want"  From the vinyl 7" EP 'One'.
15) Cosmo Sheldrake-"Pelicans We"  From the EP 'Pelicans We'.
16) Estrons-"C-C-Cariad!"  From the digital single for "C-C-Cariad!".
17) September Girls-"Green Eyed"  From the album 'Cursing the Sea'.
18) Wildhoney-"Laura"  From the EP 'Your Face Sideways'.
19) Hinds-"Davey Crockett"  From the vinyl 7" single for "Davey Crockett".
20) Eleanor Friedberger-"Sweetest Girl"  From the brand new album 'New View'.
21) Drowners-"You've Got It All Wrong"  From the EP 'Between Us Girls'.
22) Jake Bugg-"Gimme The Love"  From the brand new digital single for "Gimme The Love".
23) Younghusband-"Waverly Street"  From the album 'Dissolver'.
24) Still Parade-"Concrete Vision"  From the digital single for "Concrete Vision".
25) Beverly-"All the Things"  From the album 'Careers'.
26) PINS-"Young Girls"  From the album 'Wild Nights'.
27) Public Access TV-"Metropolis"  From the EP 'Public Access'.
28) Overcoats-"Nighttime Hunger"  From the digital single for "Nighttime Hunger".
29) Mothers-"It Hurts Until It Doesn't"  From the brand new album 'When You Walk A Long Distance You Are Tired'.
30) Crescendo-"Repulsor" From the brand new album 'Unless'.
31) Rozi Plain-"Long Years Ago"  From the compilation album 'Shirley Inspired'.
32) Lois-"Waterfall"  From the digital single for "Waterfall".
33) "The Mid-Morning Recording"             Still Corners-'Creatures Of An Hour'
Probably my personal favorite band to play at SXSW 2016. Sadly, I didn't get to see them this year though, with the unofficial parties going on and all. The band did play one of our last parties back at the Red House Pizzeria though. That was before they had released their first full length album. They had only released an EP and a couple of singles. Now, they are about to release album number three, and I'm super excited to hear it. One day, I hope to see a full headlining set by them playing a stage with a light show including their spectacular video backdrops. Another album on the 'proverbial list' that I'm surprised I haven't played before, as it continues to be one of my favorite albums of the 21st Century. This album really shows off their influence of David Lynch films, and the soundtrack work of Angelo Badalamenti. The album is dreamy and atmospheric along with a slight touches of romance and darkness; which of course is right up my alley. I had to play the "iTunes" version of the album which includes "Cabot Cove" as a bonus track. It's one of my favorite songs by the band, and I'm surprised it was left off the vinyl and CD editions. "Underneath, in a dream, in between" - Michael MFL
34) James-"Sayonara"  From the album 'Wah-Wah'.

Design, Content and Layout
© 2005-2016 M-T Productions
Ask permission if you want to use any copyrighted materials for your own use