Main Page MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Track of the Month MFL Playlists MFL Pictures MFL History and Links
MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings
MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts Past MFL Concerts

Music For Listeners 05/01/2021

1) Beastie Boys-"Country Mike's Theme"  From the compilation album 'Anthology: The Sounds of Science'.
2) Tammy Wynette-"D-I-V-O-R-C-E" From the album 'D-I-V-O-R-C-E'.
3) Mattiel-"Those Words" From the brand new digital single for "Those Words".
4) Faye Webster-"Cheers" From the forthcoming album 'I Know I'm Funny'.
5) Sofia Kourtesis-"Juntos" From the brand new EP 'Fresia Magdalena'.
6) Japanese Breakfast-"Posing In Bondage" From the forthcoming album 'Jubilee'.
7) Piroshka-"Scratching At The Lid" From the forthcoming album 'Love Drips and Gathers'.
8) James-"Beautiful Beaches" From the forthcoming album 'All the Colours of You'.
9) Molly Burch-"Control" From the forthcoming album 'Romantic Images'.
10) Cassia-"Right There" From the forthcoming EP 'Magnifer'.
11) The Coral-"Vacancy" From the forthcoming album 'Coral Island'.
12) Camera Obscura-"Break It To You Gently" From the EP '4AD Session'.
13) Crumb-"Balloon" From the brand new digital single for "Balloon".
14) Paul Weller-"Shades Of Blue" From the forthcoming album 'Fat Pop Volume One'.
15) Mr. Jukes (feat. Barney Artist)-"Blowin Steam (Open Up Your Mind)" From the brand new digital single for "Blowin Steam (Open Up Your Mind)".
16) Easy Life-"Skeletons" From the forthcoming album 'Life's a Beach'.
17) Fontaines D.C.-"A Hero's Death (Soulwax Remix)" From the digital single for "A Hero's Death (Soulwax Remix)".
18) Chvrches-"He Said She Said" From the digital single for "He Said She Said".
19) Pizzagirl-"Bullet Train" From the forthcoming album 'Softcore Mourn'.
20) Gruff Rhys-"Can't Carry On" From the forthcoming album 'Seeking New Gods'.
21) JWestern-"Aspirin" From the digital single for "Aspirin".
22) Breathe Panel-"Spring" From the digital single for "Spring".
23) Beach Bunny (feat. Tegan and Sara)-"Cloud 9" From the digital single for "Cloud 9 (feat. Tegan and Sara)".
24) Spiritualized-"Run" From the album 'Lazer Guided Melodies'.
25) My Bloody Valentine-"Honey Power" From EP 'Tremelo'.
26) Dream Wife-"Sports! (Live In London 2020)" From the brand new album 'IRL'.
27) Wyldest-"Beggar (Radio Edit)" From the forthcoming album 'Monthly Friend'.
28) Django Django-"Hold Fast" From the album 'Glowing In the Dark'.
29) Varley-"Bubble Up" From the digital single for "Bubble Up".
30) Vistas-"Start Again" From the forthcoming album 'What Were You Hoping to Find?'.
31) Mercury Rev-"Holes" From the forthcoming EP 'Live SXSW 1999'.
32) "The Mid-Morning Recording"     Everything but the Girl-'Walking Wounded'
A bit surprised we hadn't played any album from Everything but the Girl before. I like several of their albums, but I think I like this one even a little more than what many would consider their masterpiece with "Amplified Heart". This is where Ben Watt really turned to electronic and downtempo tones which matched Tracey Thorn's voice so well. Like so many great bands of the mid to late 80's, I was introduced to EbtG through a soundtrack to a John Hughes film. I had heard a few tunes from them on MTV and college radio, and I liked pretty much everything I heard from them. However, I really started paying attention to the duo after Tracey collaborated with Massive Attack for their masterpiece "Protection". Dance remixes of singles from their 1994 album "Amplified Heart" propelled the band into a bigger audience, especially in the U.S., so they were getting played more and more. "Walking Wounded" completely reflects these collaborations with electronic artists of the early to mid-90's. I can certainly appreciate a band that evolves. This was also their highest selling album in the U.S. Going back to 1996 for this one. (Shouts out to Ross for providing his digital copy of the album to play on the show. I have a vinyl copy that he also gave me.) - "Tonight I feel above the law, I'm coming into land" - Michael - MFL
33) James-"Sayonara"  From the album 'Wah-Wah'.

Design, Content and Layout
© 2005-2021 M-T Productions
Ask permission if you want to use any copyrighted materials for your own use