Main Page MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Track of the Month MFL Playlists MFL Pictures MFL History and Links
MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings
MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts Past MFL Concerts


Music For Listeners 2007/08/25
Winter Kids - Interview from SXSW 2007

1) The Beastie Boys-"Country Mike's Theme"  From the CD 'Anthology'.
2) The Barker Band-"Heart Like Mine"  From the CD 'Lonesome Waltz'.
3) Paul Weller/Graham Coxon-"This Old Town"  From the brand new UK 7" single for "This Old Town". 5000 copies only
4) Tokyo Police Club-"Your English is Good"  From the brand new UK 7"single for "Your English is Good".
5) Pants Yell!-"Suburban Home"  Descendents cover from the brand new Swedish CD compilation 'Wearing Our Punk Rock on Our Sleeves'.
6) The Coral-"Who's Gonna Find Me"  From the brand new UK CD 'Roots and Echoes'.
7) Arthur and Yu-"Come to View (Song for Neil Young)"  From the CD 'In Camera'.
8) The Shins-"Red Rabbits"  From the CD 'Wincing the Night Away'.
9) Patrick Briscoe-"Another Country"  From the brand new UK CD 'Colours Will Fly'.
10) Radar-"First to Last"  From the brand new UK 7" single for "First to Last". 450 copies only
11) Belaire-"Step Step Step"  From the brand new CD 'Exploding, Impacting'.
12) Dr. Dog-"Ain't It Strange?"  From the CD 'We All Belong'.
13) Dr. Dog-"The World May Never Know"  From the CD 'Easy Beat'.
14) The Dimes-"Doctor Doctor"  From the CD E.P. 'The Dimes (Animal)'.
15) The Hawks of Holy Rosary-"Ray Charles"  Unreleased song straight from the band.
16) Winter Kids-"Hear Me Out"  From the CD 'Memoirs'.
17) Winter Kids - MFL Interview SXSW 2007 - Segment One
18) Winter Kids-"All the Money"  From the CD 'Memoirs'.
19) Winter Kids-"Who Am I Kidding?"  From the CD 'Memoirs'.
20) Winter Kids - MFL Interview SXSW 2007 - Segment Two
21) Winter Kids-"Tape It"  From the CD 'Memoirs'.
22) Charlie Alex March-"In the End"  Daniel Johnson cover from the limited 7" UK CD single for "In the End".
23) Charlie Alex March-"Goodbye Penny"  From the 3" CD EP 'When the Clouds Clear'.
24) Kontakte-"Transmitter"  From the brand new UK 7" single for "Transmitter/Receiver".
25) Low-"Always Fade"  From the CD 'Drums and Guns'.
26) Maps-"So Low, So High"  From the CD 'We Can Create'.
27) Poster Children-"Good Cop Bad Cop"  From the CD 'New World Record'.
28) Big Soy-"I Don't Mind"  From the CD 'Putting the _______ In _______'.
29) The Rushes-"Ripping It Down"  From the brand new UK 7" single for "Ripping It Down"/"Will You Won't You".
30) Manhattan Love Suicides-"Crush Whatever"  From the CD 'The Manhattan Love Suicides'.
31) Cold War Kids-"Tell Me In the Morning"  From the CD 'Robbers and Cowards'.
32) "The Mid-Morning Recording"                    Laurie Anderson-"Big Science"
"Golden cities...golden towns" She is by far one of the most thought provoking artists of the past 40 years. Inventive, creative and tonight's album just scratches the surface. Anyone who knows me knows that I really like Laurie Anderson. From my very first listen, I could really understand her atmospheric qualities. I also noticed the great storyteller she really is. The first thing I heard by her was her box set 'United States Live Parts I-IV". Someone made a cassette tape recording of it for me with the words, "Here, I think you'll like this." I first heard it under headphones early one morning at the beginning of the nineties, and it blew me away. I couldn't believe someone decided on creating a concert that lasted two nights, with two tickets, and two separate performances. The Warner Bros. recording for 'United States Live' stems from a two night performance held at the Brooklyn Academy in 1982, and gladly, I've already played it in it's entirety over two weeks of MFL. I believe it to be her best and most engaging work to date. It's so...big. Tonight's album is at its core a selection of songs composed for the four parts of 'United States'. I'm sure Warner Bros. wanted a studio album, but after a surprise hit, they decided that they could put out a five LP set by her as well. Before the box set, 'Big Science' merely showed the highlights, but it is a great document in its own right. Since this CD has been re-released, I figured it a good time to play it. This record is a good look back on her beginnings. I respect her artistic abilities in every sense of the word. She was even the very first, and to my knowledge the only, artist-in-residence for NASA. How cool is that? You should check out the Wiki page about 'United States Live' along with the links on that page for a ton of information on this and all of her projects. Right now you can go to her website and check out a flash site dedicated to the re-release of this mornings' recording. I also dedicate this recording to my hero John Peel, the first person who played "O Superman" on the radio, and subsequently made Laurie a star in the U.K.
"Here come the planes - They're American planes...made in America...smoking, or non smoking"
Michael - MFL

33) James-"Sayonara"  From the CD 'Wah-Wah'.
33) Salaryman-"Van of Angels"  From the CD 'The Electric Forest'. Our second "P-Kids" song. ;)

Design, Content and Layout
© 2005-2007 M-T Productions
Ask permission if you want to use any copyrighted materials for your own use