Main Page MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Track of the Month MFL Playlists MFL Pictures MFL History and Links
MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings
MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts Past MFL Concerts


Music For Listeners 04/25/2009
Soda Taste Re-Test with Nick Krill of the Spinto Band

1) The Beastie Boys-"Country Mike's Theme"  From the CD 'Anthology'.
2) Charlie Parr-"Cropduster"  From the CD 'Roustabout'.
3) Jason Lytle-"Yours Truly, the Commuter"  From the forthcoming CD 'Yours Truly, the Commuter'.
4) The Molotovs-"One Up On Me (Demo)"  From the demo CD 'Fortress'.
5) Palomar-"Crush Rica" Demo sent to us straight from the band.
6) Fanfarlo-"Luna"  From the CD 'Reservoir'.
7) Sonic Youth-"Sacred Trickster"  From the forthcoming CD 'The Eternal'.
8) White Rabbits-"Midnight and I"  From the forthomcing CD 'It's Frightening'.
9) International Waters-"In the Park"  From the promo CD single for "Salt and Sea".
10) Still Flyin'-"Aerosmith, Take Me To The Other Side"  From the brand new CD 'Never Gonna Touch the Ground'.
11) Discovery-"Osaka Loop Line"  From the CD 'Discovery EP'.
12) The Peekers-"Meet You In Produce"  From the brand new CD 'Life In The Air'.
13) Young Mammals-"Analogue"  From the CD 'Carrots'.
14) Artefacts for Space Travel-"Recoup"  From the CD 'Power Of The Brain'.
15) Dent May and His Magnificent Ukulele-"Meet Me in the Garden"  From the CD 'The Good Feeling Music of Dent May & His Magnificent Ukulele'.
16) Sydney Wayser-"Lullaby"  From the CD 'The Colorful'.
17) A Classic Education-"Badlands And Owls"  From the vinyl LP 'First E.P.'.
18) The Soundtrack of Our Lives-"Fly"  From the double CD 'Communion'.
19) The Spinto Band-"Summer Grof"  From the CD 'Moonwink'.
20) Music For Listeners Soda Taste Re-Test with Nick Krill of the Spinto Band and special guests Marcus Rubio, and the Hawks (of Holy Rosary).  Since Nick was out sick during the second test with his band.
21) The Hawks of Holy Rosary-"Superstation"  Demo sent to us straight from the band.
22) Marcus Rubio and the Gospel Choir of Pillows-"Oceanic Tremors Part One"  From the forthcoming CD 'Oceanic Tremors'.
23) The Spinto Band-"Ain't This The Truth"  From the CD 'Moonwink'.
24) Noah and the Whale-"Second Lover"  From the CD 'Peaceful, the World Lays Me Down'.
25) Listen Listen-"The Body"  From the forthcoming CD 'Hymns from Rhodesia'.
26) The Fireman-"Don't Stop Running"/"Electric Arguments"  From the CD 'Electric Arguments'.
27) "The Mid-Morning Recording"       Findlay Brown-'Seperated By the Sea'
London singer/songwriter Findlay Brown was sad that he lost his love, so he did something about it. After being somewhat of a jerk, (his words), to the love of his life, his girl moved across the English Channel to her homeland of the Dutch and presumably out of his life forever. This album is an extended love letter to his love; a call and a plea for her to return from across the sea. As a result, it is an album full of some of the most romantic pop songs of this century. Meeting Findlay a couple of years back, I was completely struck by his character and honesty.  He’s a layered singer-songwriter who presents his music in a passionate and in an almost psychedelic way.  In his music one can hear a little John Lennon, a little Roy Orbison, a little Jackson Browne, and a whole lot of Nick Drake. On the heals of his second album, I thought we should play his wonderful debut recording; his love letter that seemed to have worked. I don't know if they are still together now, but two years ago when we talked with Findlay at SXSW, we actually met the woman behind these words. She was a kind and beautiful woman to match her kind and beautiful recording. Let's hope they are still together; at least as friends, if not more. "We don't really have to be separated by the sea. Come on let's play our song. 'Cause you're the one for me".

28) James-"Sayonara"  From the CD 'Wah-Wah'.

Design, Content and Layout
© 2005-2009 M-T Productions
Ask permission if you want to use any copyrighted materials for your own use