Main Page MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Track of the Month MFL Playlists MFL Pictures MFL History and Links
MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings
MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts Past MFL Concerts


Music For Listeners 01/14/2012

1) Beastie Boys-"Country Mike's Theme"  From the CD 'The Sounds of Science: Beastie Boys Anthology'.
2) Yo-Yo Ma - Stuart Duncan - Edgar Meyer - Chris Thile featuring Aoife O'Donovan-"No One But You"  From the CD 'The Goat Rodeo Sessions'.
3) The Shins-"Simple Song"  From the forthcoming CD 'Point of Morrow'.
4) The Magnetic Fields-"Andrew In Drag"  From the forthcoming CD 'Love at the Bottom of the Sea'.
5) The Maccabees-"Given To The Wild (Intro)/Child"  From the brand new CD 'Given To The Wild'.
6) His Clancyness-"Ottawa Backfired Soon"  From the split 7" single with The Babies.
7) White Rabbits-"Heavy Metal"  From the forthcoming CD 'Milk Famous'.
8) Standard Fare-"Dead Future"  From the brand new CD 'Out of Sight, Out of Town'.
9) Alt-J-"Fitzpleasure (Radio Edit)"  From the brand new digital single for "Fitzpleasure".
10) Casiokids-"Selskapets Triste Avslutning"  From the brand new CD 'Aabenbaringen Over Aaskammen'.
11) of Montreal-"Dour Percentage"  From the forthcoming CD 'Paralytic Stalks'.
12) Radiohead-"The Daily Mail"  From the digital AA single for "The Daily Mail"/"Staircase".
13) Cornershop featuring Bubbly Kaur-"Don't Shake It (Let It Free)"  From the digital single for "Don't Shake It (Let It Free)".
14) Theme Park-"Ghost"  From the digital single for "Milk".
15) Palomar-"Reunion"  From the brand new CD 'Sense and Antisense'.
16) Jenny Owen Youngs-"Your Apartment" Fr om the forthcoming CD 'An Unwavering Band of Light'.
17) Trailer Trash Tracys-"You Wish You"  From the brand new CD 'Ester'.
18) Colleen Green-"Green One"  From the brand new digital EP 'Green One +3'.
19) Fear of Men-"Spirit House"  From the vinyl 7" single for "Ritual Confession".
20) The Courteeners-"Scratch Your Name Upon My Lips"  From the CD EP 'Electric Lick'.
21) Fairewell-"Others Of Us"  From the CD 'Poor Grendel'.
22) The Apache Relay-"Lost Kid"  From the CD 'American Nomad'.
23) Gotye / Kimbra-"Somebody That I Used To Know"  From the brand new digital single for "Somebody That I Used To Know".
24) G. Green-"Gay 90's"  From the forthcoming 7" single for "Gay 90's".
25) Air-"Seven Stars"  From the brand new digital single for "Seven Stars".
26) Still Corners-"The White Season"  From the CD 'Creatures of An Hour'.
27) Cults-"You Know What I Mean"  From the CD 'Cults'.
28) Treetop Flyers-"Disappearing Kind"  From the vinyl 10" EP 'Things Will Change'.
29) Michael Kiwanuka-"Now I'm Seeing"  From the 10" single EP 'Home Again'.
30) Kate Bush-"Misty"  From the CD '50 Words for Snow'.
31) "The Mid-Morning Recording"          The Blues Brothers-'Briefcase Full of Blues' (Vinyl LP)
What happens when two great actors who love great music think of a brilliant idea. Dan Aykroyd and John Belushi certainly had a hit with the first SNL film spin off. The first of many. This album was a success at the time of it's release and with the talented musicians in tow, it was a shoe-in for Atlantic Records. Donald "Duck" Dunn and Steve Cropper from Booker T and the MG's, and members of the SNL band at that time including Paul Shaffer and Lou Marini all helped out to make this album better than just a novelty act. It's a piece of comedy AND music history captured live the Universal Ampetheater, not in NYC, and not in Chicago, but in sunny L.A. This album was such a big hit for Belushi and Aykroyd that they ended up leaving their posts at SNL to make the movie. Which happens to be my favorite musical of all-time. Tonight we don't play the soundtrack to the film, but we play the debut release from The Blues Brothers. A vinyl LP copy that was surely my mother's back when it was new. Maybe she listened in tonight. "Do that again, bow bow bow".
Michael - MFL

32) James-"Sayonara"  From the CD 'Wah-Wah'.

Design, Content and Layout
© 2005-2011 M-T Productions
Ask permission if you want to use any copyrighted materials for your own use