Main Page MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Track of the Month MFL Playlists MFL Pictures MFL History and Links
MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings
MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts Past MFL Concerts


Music For Listeners 01/12/2013

1) Beastie Boys-"Country Mike's Theme"  From the CD 'The Sounds of Science: Beastie Boys Anthology'.
2) Jackson Browne-"Fountain of Sorrow"  From the CD 'Late for the Sky'.
3) Foals-"My Number"  From the forthcoming CD 'Holy Fire'.
4) The Joy Formidable-"Cholla"  From the forthcoming CD 'Wolf's Law'.
5) Novella-"Look It In The Eye"  From the brand new vinyl 7" single for "Mary's Gun".
6) Two Door Cinema Club-"Something Good Can Work (BBC Live Lounge)"  From the digital release 'BBC Radio 1's Live Lounge Vol. 6'.
7) Local Natives-"Heavy Feet"  From the forthcoming CD 'Hummingbird'.
8) Low-"Just Make It Stop"  From the forthcoming CD 'The Invisible Way'.
9) The Spinto Band-"Shake It Off"  From the forthcoming CD 'Cool Cocoon'.
10) A Classic Education-"Night Owl (FISHING College Pool Remix)"  From the brand new digital EP 'FISHING Lefse remixes'.
11) Nothing-"Downward Years To Come"  From the brand new digital EP 'Downward Years To Come'.
12) Bloody Beach-"Judy Robbed a Bank"  From the digital EP 'Bonanza'.
13) Slowness-"Day for Night"  From the forthcoming CD 'Those Who Wish To See The Glass Half Full'.
14) Galaxy Express-"Horongbul"  From the brand new CD 'Galaxy Express'.
15) Jens Lekman-"Olivia and Maddy"  A gift to the world from Jens found on the Secretly Candaian website.
16) Toy-"Drifting Deeper (Fearless Remix)"  From the digital EP 'Make It Mine'.
17) Fear of Men-"Spirit House"  From the vinyl 7" single for "Green Sea".
18) Matthew J Tow-"It's Gonna Be Alright"  From the forthcoming CD 'The Way Of Things'.
19) Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds-"We No Who U R"  From the forthcoming CD 'Push The Sky Away'.
20) Still Corners-"The Twilight Hour"  From the CD 'Creatures of an Hour'.
21) Massive Attack-"Hymn Of The Big Wheel"  From the remastered CD 'Blue Lines'.
22) Icons of Andria-"Land of Relics"  From the brand new digital EP 'Icons of Andria'.
23) Brian Eno-"Lux 4"  From the CD 'Lux'.
24) "The Mid-Morning Recording"           The Orb-'Orblivion'
It has been a little over a year since I played an Orb album, so I looked back into the list to see what hasn't been played. Turns out their wonderful fourth full length album wasn't on the list. This is a great album, but at the time it was a departure for the long time Orb fans. I'm sure the Orb were trying to make a statement that they could write shorter pieces, and not keep them going as long as previous albums. As a humorous dig to that effect, the CD version of the is stretched to 72 minutes exactly with a five minute silent break and a six minute hidden track. Even though the pieces are somewhat shorter than pieces on previous Orb albums, the pieces here are still strong, and some of the best in their catalog. Also, fans would later get live mixes, radio sessions, and expanded versions of the album with extended and alternate mixes, so in the end, it's just another great album by the Ambient-House masters. The album does have a dark feeling, hence the title, but in Orb style, it also littered with humor. "Awed by tradition".
Michael - MFL

25) James-"Sayonara"  From the CD 'Wah-Wah'.
Design, Content and Layout
© 2005-2013 M-T Productions
Ask permission if you want to use any copyrighted materials for your own use