Main Page MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Track of the Month MFL Playlists MFL Pictures MFL History and Links
MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings MFL Mid-Morning Recordings
MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Webcasts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts MFL Concerts Past MFL Concerts

MFL - Playlists

MFL - Past Playlists

Music For Listeners 04/08/2023

1) Beastie Boys-"Country Mike's Theme"  From the compilation album 'Anthology: The Sounds of Science'.
2) Kim Ware and the Good Graces-"The Deep Part"  From the brand new album 'Homely'.
3) Pip Blom-"Tiger"  From the brand new single for "Tiger".
4) Poster Paints-"Falling Hard"  From the brand new album 'Poster Paints'.
5) Royel Otis-"Going Kokomo"  From the brand new EP 'Sofa Kings'.
6) Crawlers-"That Time of Year Always"  From the brand new single for "That Time of Year Always".
7) This is the Kit-"Inside Outside"  From the forthcoming album 'Careful of Your Keepers'.
8) The Lemonheads-"Into Your Arms (Acoustic)"  From the forthcoming 30th Anniversary album 'Come on Feel The Lemonheads'.
9) Talking Flowers-"Storytelling"  From the brand new single for "Storytelling".
10) Martha Ffion-"The Wringer"  From the forthcoming album 'The Wringer'.
11) Teleman-"Trees Grow High"  From the brand new album 'Good Time/Hard Time'.
12) Avalon Emerson-"Hot Evening"  From the forthcoming album 'Avalon Emerson & The Charm'.
13) Das Koolies-"The Condemned"  From the brand new EP 'The Condemned'.
14) Everything but the Girl-"Run a Red Light"  From the forthcoming album 'Fuse'.
15) Mogwai-"Honey"  From the compilation album 'A Tribute To Spacemen 3'.
16) Slow Pulp-"Cramps"  From the brand new single for "Cramps".
17) Revolver-"Crimson (Demo)"  From the compilation album 'Demos 1: 1990-1991'.
18) Wynona Bleach-"Drag"  From the album 'Moonsoake'.
19) Anna St Louis-"Phone"  From the forthcoming album 'In the Air'.
20) Generationals-"Dirt Diamond"  From the forthcoming album 'Heatherhead'.
21) Nightbus-"Mirrors"  From the brand new single for "Mirrors".
22) Albert Hammond Jr. (feat. Goldlink)-"100-99"  From the forthcoming album 'Melodies On Hiatus'.
23) Meg Mac-"Only Love (Live at Golden Retriever)"  From the forthcoming album 'Live at Golden Retriever'.
24) Billie Marten-"I Can't Get My Head Around You"  From the brand new album 'Drop Cherries'.
25) Hannah Georgas-"This Too Shall Pass"  From the brand new single for "This Too Shall Pass".
26) Bar Italia-"Nurse!"  From the brand new single for "Nurse!".
27) The Beths-"Watching the Credits"  From the brand new single for "Watching the Credits".
28) Hot Wax-"A Thousand Times"  From the forthcoming EP 'A Thousand Times'.
29) Chime School-"Coming to Your Town"  From the brand new single for "Coming to Your Town".
30) The Cavves-"Hollywood"  From the brand new single for "Hollywood".
31) "The Mid-Morning Record"    Sire Records Compilation-'Just Say Anything'
Rest In Peace Seymour Stein (1942-2023)
The benchmark for label compilations really. Labels had always put them out, but the "Just Say" series of compilations were at least, to me and others I know, special. Exclusive tracks, remixes, or just amazing singles that need to be heard by a bigger audience. This volume of the series has always been my favorite since it has so many amazing artists from the Sire roster, and there are of course so so many that are missing. Someday we may do a show of all Sire Records releases, but for this show, I wanted to feature one of better of the "reduced price" label compilations out there. Some Creation Records artists are represented. International artists, and even what was the debut of Ice-T's project Body Count. Due to FCC rules, I had to unfortunately heavily edit the version that played over the FM dial. The album has a "parental advisory sticker" because of the inclusion of the Body Count track. (These days the equivalent would be the "explicit" label on downloads and music streaming sites.) The album starts off with a song by John Wesley Harding and Steve Wynn written for the comp called "Warning Parental Advisory", addressing this label and censorship in general. Apart from these two pieces, and the liner notes which each band was asked to give a statement about censorship, the music is really about "anything goes". Classic singles from Primal Scream, Ride, Seal, The Ocean Blue, The Farm. Cover songs from Morrissey, and The Mighty Lemon Drops. Remixes of Danelle Dax and Bigod 20. There is something for everyone for sure. Censorship is never good in any society where freedom of speech is highly regarded. As the band Ride states in the liner notes, "Your code of morals is your very own form of censorship: people are intelligent enough to make their own choice. Censorship just insults your intelligence and usually results in highlighting the subject matter." --- Michael - MFL
32) James-"Sayonara" From the album 'Wah-Wah'.

Design, Content and Layout
© 2005-2023 M-T Productions
Ask permission if you want to use any copyrighted materials for your own use